Kansas State Medical Society Adopts One Health Resolution – 4th in the nation (USA) June 3, 2014—The Kansas State Medical Society became the 4th state in the United States to adopt a One Health resolution according to Dr. Ralph Richardson, Dean of the Kansas State University College of Veterinary Medicine and Dr. Larry R. Anderson, a family practice physician from Wellington, Kansas (USA).  Anderson also holds a degree in veterinary medicine and served on the American Veterinary Medical Association’s (AVMA) distinguished One Health task force that developed and published an historic comprehensive AVMA “One Health” report   The Kansas Medical Society House of Delegates adopted their One Health resolution as an action/policy stating, “The Kansas Medical Society, through its endorsement of OneHealth and OneHealth Kansas, supports collaboration between human and veterinary medicine; supports joint educational efforts between human and veterinary medical schools; encourages joint efforts in clinical care through the assessment, treatment and prevention of cross-species disease transmission; supports cross-species disease surveillance in public health and  supports joint efforts in the development of new diagnostic methods, medicines and vaccines for the prevention and control of diseases across species.”   The Florida Medical Association (FMA) was the first state medical association to adopt a One Health resolution entitled “Collaboration between Human Medicine, Veterinary Medicine, and the Environmental Sciences (One Health)”,2011.pdf  on Sunday July 31, 2011.   In December 2011 the Massachusetts Medical Society (MMS) a landmark policy supporting the importance of collaboration between human medicine, veterinary medicine and the environmental sciences and encouraging dialogue between human medical, veterinary medical, and environmental sciences professionals to identify opportunities to work together in the areas of medical education, clinical care, public health and biomedical research.  The Missouri State Medical Association (MSMA) unanimously adopted a One Health Initiative resolution on April 6, 2014 becoming the third state in the United States to do so.  Notably, in addition, the Missouri Medicine medical journal published a unique One Health issue May/June 2013 [].   Note: ·         The American Medical Association (AMA) adopted an historic One Health resolution in June 2007.    *Ronald M. Davis, MD Past President, American Medical Association Past Director, Center for Health Promotion & Disease Prevention. Henry Ford Health System One Ford Place, 5C Detroit, Michigan 48202-3450 *Deceased July 3, 2007 – American Medical Association (AMA) Im delighted that the AMA House of Delegates has approved a resolution calling for increased collaboration between the human and veterinary medical communities and I look forward to seeing a stronger partnership between physicians and veterinarians.  Emerging infectious diseases, with the threats of cross-species transmission and pandemics, represent one of many reasons why the human and veterinary medical professions must work more closely together.   The World Medical Association (WMA) and World Veterinary Association (WVA) signed an historic collaborative One Health Memorandum in Bangkok, Thailand in October 2012   The American Association of Public Health Physicians (AAPHP), a prominent longstanding One Health supportive organization, formally endorsed the One Health Initiative on their website in November 2012   The Kansas Medical Society’s One Health resolution adoption was reported to the One Health Initiative website June 3, 2014 by:   Ralph C. Richardson, DVM, Diplomate ACVIM (Oncology, Internal Medicine) Dean College of Veterinary Medicine 101 Trotter Hall Kansas State University Manhattan, KS 66506-5660 Phone: 785-532-5660 Cell: 785-770-7679 Fax: 785-532-5884 E-mail:   and   Larry R. Anderson, DVM, MD Sumner County Family Care Center, PA Wellington, Kansas (USA)   Drs. Richardson and Anderson are longstanding One Health supporter/advocates and both are members of the One Health Initiative team’s Honorary Advisory Board