American Association of Public Health Physicians (AAPHP) Announces Appointment of One Health Representative


The President of the American Association of Public Health Physicians, Virginia Dato, MD, MPH, FACPM, FAAP, recently requested that “lifetime” AAPHP member Laura H. Kahn, MD, MPH, MPP serve as an AAPHP “One Health” representative  Dr. Kahn has accepted that position and Dato said, “We are delighted that Dr. Kahn has agreed to serve as our AAPHP “One Health” liaison with other One Health oriented groups and organizations.”  Kahn commented, "As a member of the One Health Initiative team and the AAPHP, I'm thrilled and enthusiastic about being able to serve as a go-between for the two groups as well as others. There is much work to be done to benefit human, animal, and environmental health."  Dr. Kahn was a founding member of the One Health Initiative Autonomous pro bono team: Laura H. Kahn, MD, MPH, MPP ▪ Bruce Kaplan, DVM ▪ Thomas P. Monath, MD ▪ Jack Woodall, PhD ▪ Lisa A. Conti, DVM, MPH.



Past President of AAPHP, Kevin Sherin, MD, MPH, CPE, FACPM, FAAFP, FASAM, is AAPHP's American Medical Association (AMA) House of Delegate representative and says, “I look forward to working with Dr. Kahn to improve awareness of the One Health Initiative by State Medical Societies and Delegations.”  Dr. Sherin, is a long standing One Health supporter/advocate who serves on the One Health Initiative team’s Honorary Advisory Board  He is currently Interim Director, Division of Disease Control & Health Protection of the Florida Department of Health which also houses responsibilities for “One Health” endeavors.  In addition Dr. Sherin is Director and Health Officer, Orange County Health Department in Orlando, Florida (USA).

Dr. Dato endorsed One Health on behalf of the AAPHP November 22, 2012: