December 6, 2022

“The U.S. Department of State has selected seven distinguished scientists to serve as U.S. Science Envoys in January 2023: Dr. Drew Harvell, Dr. Jessica Gephart, Dr. Christine Kreuder Johnson, Dr. LaShanda Korley, Dr. Prineha Narang, Ms. Frances Seymour, and Dr. Kyle Whyte. Through the Science Envoy Program, eminent U.S. scientists and engineers leverage their expertise and networks to forge connections and identify opportunities for sustained international cooperation to advance solutions to shared challenges, to champion innovation, and to demonstrate America’s scientific leadership and technical ingenuity.

Like their 23 predecessors, these esteemed scientists are approved by the Secretary of State. They travel as private citizens to engage internationally with civil society as well as government interlocutors.  Science Envoys help inform the Department of State, other U.S. government agencies, and the scientific community about opportunities for science and technology cooperation.  The 2023 cohort was selected because of their expertise in key issues facing the world today and will focus on these priority areas during their service which include: Ocean Conservation and Marine Protected Areas; Illegal, Unreported, and Unregulated Fishing; One Health and Zoonotic Diseases; Plastic Pollution; Quantum Information Science and Technology; Nature-Based Solutions to Climate Change; and, the Nexus of Environmental Science and Indigenous Knowledge. ...”