One Health Initiative Team Nominated for Katerva Award Consideration


The One Health Initiative Autonomous pro bono Team: Laura H. Kahn, MD, MPH, MPP ▪ Bruce Kaplan, DVM ▪ Thomas P. Monath, MD ▪ Jack Woodall, PhD ▪ Lisa A. Conti, DVM, MPH has been nominated for the 2013 Katerva Award in the “Behavioral Change” category (scroll down).


Katerva evaluates nominations as follows:

“We Evaluate Innovations for Validity, Originality, Impact and Scalability

We are seeking inspirational innovations that can scale rapidly, have meaningful impact and measurable results for a thriving future. Nominations are sourced from the Katerva Network and also by direct research. Research and nomination processes are ongoing and nominations are accepted year-round for the following year's awards.

Katerva Award nominations are subject to a rigorous multi-level filtering process.

Nominations are first reviewed for validity by a team of experts in each of our 10 award categories. Expert panels comprised of scientists, practitioners and academics evaluate whether the innovation works within known scientific and technical parameters.

The top 10 nominees from each category are then scored against a detailed set of criteria by expert teams for ,impact, scalability and policy. The winner is chosen through scoring, deliberation and final score submittal.

The ten winners are forward to a world class team of Judges who review extensive material and scores and deliberate to choose the annual Katerva Award winner.

We also hold a People’s Choice Award—a competition open to all finalists (the top 50 nominees).